

ESSEX SOCIETY FOR FAMILY HISTORY Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Conducted both online and at Galleywood Heritage Centre On Saturday 19 October 2024 at 2pm

Present: Lord Petre (President), Ann Church, Yvonne Tunstill and Ann Turner (Vice Presidents), Andrea Hewitt (Chairman), Toni Neobard (Vice Chairman), Tanya Sewell (Treasurer), Jean-Marc Bazzoni (Secretary); Executive Committee members and members online (21) and at Galleywood Heritage Centre (29).

- 1. Welcome: The Chairman welcomed all those present.
- 2. Apologies for absence were received from Eric Jude, Anne Langley, Gill Peregrine and Janice Sharpe.
- 3. Minutes of the AGM held on 21 October 2023: these were approved and signed by the President as a correct record.
- 4. Matters arising from those Minutes: Item 6, 2nd paragraph amended from 'Consequently, the Chairman agreed that an online Extraordinary General Meeting will need to be arranged, the likelihood this being held in January 2024. All members to be informed.' to 'Consequently, the Chairman agreed that an Extraordinary General Meeting will need to be arranged, to be held both in person and online, date and venue to be decided by the Executive Committee, but probably in January 2024. All members to be informed.'
- 5. President and Vice Presidents: The Chairman announced that it had been agreed by the Executive Committee as follows: President Lord Petre; Vice Presidents Ann Church, Yvonne Tunstill and Ann Turner.

- 6. Chairman's Annual Report on behalf of the Trustees: Andrea gave her report, a full copy of which appears in this issue of *The Historian* and on the Society's website.
- 7. Financial report by the Treasurer: Tanya said that the Annual Accounts to 31 March 2024 had been approved by the Executive Committee and signed by the Chairman and our Examiner and these were available on the Society's website.

Tanya then formally proposed the adoption of the accounts for the year ending 31 March 2024 and this was approved by a vote in the hall and online.

Tanya then proposed that Peter Kittle of Chelmer Company Services Limited continue as our Examiner. This was approved by a vote in the hall and online.

The Chairman then handed over to Lord Petre to continue the meeting.

- 8. Election of Officers/Holding Trustees: Andrea Hewitt (Chairman), Toni Neobard (Vice Chairman), Tanya Sewell (Treasurer) and Jean-Marc Bazzoni (Secretary) have been nominated. These were the only nominations and therefore duly ratified.
- 9. Election of Executive Committee: The following have been nominated and were elected en bloc Pauline Adlem, Colleen Devenish, Jeff Porter, Meryl Rawlings, Denise Somers, Paul Stirland, Christine Stringer and John Young.

The following would serve as ex-officio members of the Executive Committee - Elizabeth Cox, Heather Feather and Gill Peregrine.

As no other business was raised, Lord Petre declared the meeting closed at 2.33pm.

Minutes taken by Jean-Marc Bazzoni (Secretary)